Skip To Main Content

Select a School

Madison Metropolitan School District

Grade 8 Information

Follow this link to visit the 8th Grade Website.

8th Grade Staff

 

Name Position Phone # Email Contact
Carey Callies Math 204-4861 cacallies@madison.k12.wi.us
John Peschl

 

Humanities

204-4862

 

jcpeschl@madison.k12.wi.us

Melissa Dean

Cross Categorical

204-4866

 

mddean@madison.k12.wi.us

Samantha Yoder

Science/AVID

204-4860

ssyoder@madison.k12.wi.us

Brooke Gritt

Math

204-4865

 

bcgritt@madison.k12.wi.us

Agnieszka Newmann

Cross Categorical 204-4864

arneumann@madison.k12.wi.us

Philip Wood

Spanish

204-4863

pewood@madison.k12.wi.us

Janelle Jeter-Smiley

Cross Categorical

204-4865

 

jkjeter2@madison.k12.wi.us

Phil Smith

English/Language Arts

204-4864

pcsmith@madison.k12.wi.us

Madi Andresen

Spanish

204-4878

 

mjandresen@madison.k12.wi.us

Kevin Schneider

Humanities

204-4797

krschneider@madison.k12.wi.us

Kelsey Nelson

Math

204-4798

kknelson2@madison.k12.wi.us

Click on the subject to view and download a copy of the syllabus.

 

Humanities - John Peschl, Kevin Schneider, Phil Smith

Math - Brooke Gritt, Kelsey Nelson

Science - Samantha Yoder, Carey Callies

Spanish - Philip Wood, Madi Andresen

AVID - Samantha Yoder

Grading

All MMSD middle schools used standard-based grading to communicate student understanding of standards and learning targets. The following scale is the broad meaning of the rating on given standards

Academic Performance Level for Middle School Standard Rubrics

4 – Demonstrates in depth understanding and application

3 – Demonstrates full understanding and application

2 – Demonstrates partial understanding and application

1 – Demonstrates little understanding and application

0 – Demonstrates no understanding and application

 

 Middle School Learning Skills Rubric:

M – Most of the time

S – Some of the time

 R – Rarely

For Your Information:

We will be working to keep assignments and grades up to date in Infinite Campus. You can view your student’s grades through the parent portal:

 https://campus.madison.k12.wi.us/campus/portal/madison.jsp